3 thoughts on “NEW BLOG

  1. Spent almost 2 years on crete, 1968 and 69. Returned in 2019 for a weeks vacation with my wife. She loved it as I do. Will try to visit again.

  2. Excellent site and very interesting vignettes. Well Done.
    In the 60s, before the Fall of Hippiedom at Matalla, I would often ponder the strange area on the cliffs above to the south, en route to ‘Red Beach’.
    At the highest point it is relatively flat for such a hilly area and is COMPLETELY covered in ancient potsherds, as if washed there from the north by a tidal wave, perhaps Santorini’s eruption which so weakened the Minoan society.
    Over the centuries the pieces have been worn smooth by rain & wind blown sand so I was never able to discern any markings but I have never read any mention of this.
    Most people think that Matalla faces south when it is due west, being on the thumb of Kriti pointing down to Africa.

Leave a comment